Flylady’s Routines and Thankfulness

I’m reading a book called When You and I Were Young, Nebraska!: The Autobiography of a Pioneer Woman by Berna Hunter Chrisman. In her introduction, she writes:

If such writing as this is to be purposeful, if such an autobiography is to become meaningful to others, it must deal with elemental truths that have been discovered for ourselves in the life process.

So, I would like to share what I might consider an elemental truth that I have discovered over the past couple of weeks. Earlier this month, before the Monday, Monday week and the week before that, I was feeling pretty sorry for myself. I was frustrated that I had to do so much work every day just to keep up with the Flylady routines. I was indulging in a lot of “grass is greener” thinking about moms whose children are not home all day or women who only have to get a husband on board with the routines. And I know plenty of women who have cleaning ladies come in, too. Oh, yes, I was having quite the mental pity party.

Then, I spent two weeks facing the possibility of NOT being able to get the Flylady routines done, especially had I come down with the stomach bug. My first thoughts were still along the lines of, See how much work this is? I have to be in top shape every day to even begin to try to keep up! But, eventually, I came to a different conclusion.

I have now realized how grateful I am to have a solution to my CHAOS, even if it takes work. A lot of work. I could still be wallowing around in frustration and guilt and CHAOS. But I am not. That there actually is a solution to my being a side-tracked home executive, no matter how much work it requires, is something to be grateful for.

If not for Flylady, I would be scrambling around today, trying to prepare my home and my children and the food for tomorrow. Because of Flylady, I am looking forward to a nice, relaxed day of preparation, no scrambling. And I am truly thankful.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Flylady’s Routines and Thankfulness”

  1. Sara Says:

    I wanted to thank you for your sharings. I’ve been reading along about your journey with Flylady, and as a homeschooling mom of four little ones, I felt alone, because I have been having to work so, so hard, to keep up with the daily routines and goals that the Flylady system has helped me implement in our lives. It just seemed for everyone else, it came so easy, and things were done so quickly and they had all this free time. But when I think back to what our lives were like pre-flylady, I wouldn’t change what I do for anything. Yes, I work hard daily, sun up to sun down, but when I think of the peace that it has brought to my home and the ability for my children and I to know instinctively, “Ok, this is what is scheduled to be done today” and then we get it done, and our home and lives are so much funner and more peaceful when we do have a break.

    The weekly home blessing has especially helped me so much, along with the routines that help us keep things picked up so that we can be prepared for Thanksgiving day, because I’m not having to rush around and dust and vacuum and mop, because it was already done on Monday. And I’m able to focus on doing fun stuff with my kids and get food ready in time for a wonderful family gathering.

    Praying that you all have a blessed Thanksgiving!

    In His Grace,
    sara

    • thetruevine Says:

      It means a lot to me that you took time to comment, Sara. It’s nice to know that there’s someone else out there who is finding the Flylady routines to be a lot of work, but WORTH IT!!

  2. Joey Says:

    And I am eternally grateful that God put you into my life!!! I am a blessed man.

Leave a Reply

