One More Post About Flylady and Thanksgiving

There I was yesterday morning, all calm and ready for the day, when Joey asked me why I looked deflated. I realized that I was feeling a little deflated because we weren’t having quite the “crowd” that we sometimes have at Thanksgiving since many of our usual guests were traveling to see their families this year. In the back of my mind, I was saying, Thanks to Flylady, I finally am able to have a stress-free Thanksgiving preparation, but since we aren’t having as many people over as usual, I don’t get to experience the full benefit of it.

Then, I thought that THE biggest benefit of preparing for Thanksgiving using Flylady’s Holiday Control Journal is that my family got to enjoy the days leading up to Thanksgiving with a mom and wife who was not running around barking orders and getting cranky for fear that everything would not be prepared in time. How could having any more people over for the meal result in any bigger benefit than that?

Also, before we take down our Tree of Blessing, I wanted to mention some inspiration God gave me through it. We love to use Ann Hibbard’s Family Celebrations books. I mean, we love to use them. As part of the Tree of Blessing devotions in her Family Celebrations at Thanksgiving and Alternatives to Halloween, we were reading 2 Kings 4:1-7 about the widow whose late husband’s creditor was coming to take her two boys as his slaves. God, through Elisha, told the woman to get a lot of empty jars from her neighbors, go home and shut the door and pour what little oil she had into each one. As you know, she miraculously filled all of the jars with oil which she sold to pay off her debts and still have money to live on.

About this story, Ann Hibbard wrote:

God did not simply make a pile of money magically materialize in this woman’s house. He did a tremendous miracle, and He made sure that she had more than she needed. But He required that she trust and obey. She needed to believe that Elisha was speaking for God (trust), and she needed to borrow jars and pour oil (obey). If we want to see God do amazing things, we too need to believe His Word and do what He has told us to do.

This is true in so many areas of my life. Through Flylady, God shows me a way to be a good steward of everything He has given me, to provide a peaceful home environment for my family, to be rid of CHAOS and frustration and guilt. But, I have to obey that leading. My home will not magically be transformed. It is up to me to do the necessary work. This goes for my being rid of Body Clutter, too. Through the South Beach Diet and Jazzercise, God has provided a way for me to be a good steward of the body He has given me. But, I have to obey that leading and follow through. My body will not magically stay free of clutter. I have to do the necessary work.

This whole idea extends into my desire to have more time to be creative. God has shown me that if I prepare and dedicate a specific area in our craft room for my work, I will be able to more easily be creative on a daily basis. But this area will not be magically prepared. I need to do the necessary work. And I think I’ll start on that right now, before we start going full throttle with Christmas preparations.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

