Having a Flylady Control Journal is the Key

I read someone’s Flylady testimonial the other day that has really stuck with me. I don’t have the time right now to go look for it and link it, but, basically, she said that the real issue isn’t that everything is clean, the real issue is having a plan for a routine to keep everything clean. I have thought about this a lot lately. I tend, as we perfectionist SHEs do, to want everything to be clean at once or I start feeling kind of weirdly stressed and jittery. Even though I’ve been doing Flylady for quite some time, now, and don’t actually ever fall back into the “all or nothing” trap, I still feel like wanting everything to be clean at once.

But, this person is right on when she says that it’s not that important that any particular part of the house is clean at any one time, it’s having a plan, a routine, a control journal that helps keep the house clean. When I look at something that needs to be done (for example, the appliances needing some attention), instead of getting side-tracked from the task at hand, I can just remind myself that there will be a time set aside to attend to the appliances. So, what I’ve been trying to do today is, when I feel myself looking at something that needs attention (like, the secretary filing containers needing to be de-cluttered), I can just plan a time for getting that done.

This all probably seems so simple to people who aren’t SHEs….

Leave a Reply

